Skip to content

Our Shelter in Times of Storms

May 21, 2016

Saturday

 

Psalms 119:114-117

 

Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word.Depart from me, ye evildoers: for I will keep the commandments of my God. Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope. Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statutes continually.

 

 

LESSON

 

Double-minded people disregard God’s revelation, but those who value it make God their refuge and defense. Though David could not say that he was free from vain thoughts, yet he could say that he hated them; he did not countenance them, nor give them any entertainment, but did what he could to keep them out, at least to keep them under.

“Hiding-place” is a place of protection, a place where the enemy cannot discover you. “Shield” is an instrument of protection, that which prevents the arrow or the sword from touching the life. The two expressions mean safe guardianship. What a Guardian is God!

You can see worry in people’s faces, they are taut, constricted, intense. You can see worry in people’s attitudes. They are disquieted, apprehensive and vexed. More often than not, they tell you, up front, that they are worried about something. You can see the physical signs of worry—people with ulcers, on the verge of a nervous breakdown and those with certain heart diseases. And what is it that we worry about?  The short answer is that we worry about EVERYTHING!!

 

Memory Verse: Isaiah 25:4

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

