Skip to content

GOOD INTENTIONS

May 13, 2015

Wednesday

 

Psalms 26:1-12

 

JUDGE me, O LORD; for I have walked in mine integrity: I have trusted also in the LORD; therefore I shall not slide. Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart.

For thy loving kindness is before mine eyes: and I have walked in thy truth. I have not sat with vain persons, neither will I go in with dissemblers. I have hated the congregation of evildoers; and will not sit with the wicked. I will wash mine hands in innocency: so will I compass thine altar, O LORD: That I may publish with the voice of thanksgiving, and tell of all thy wondrous works. LORD, I have loved the habitation of thy house, and the place where thine honor dwelleth. Gather not my soul with sinners, nor my life with bloody men: In whose hands is mischief, and their right hand is full of bribes. But as for me, I will walk in mine integrity: redeem me, and be merciful unto me. My foot standeth in an even place: in the congregations will I bless the LORD.

 

 

LESSON

 

David asked for God’s vindication because of his personal integrity. He protested his innocence.

When David asked God to vindicate him, he was praying that the Lord would show to others that he had not been guilty of things with which others had charged him. To prove him guiltless, the psalmist asked God to be fair with him, and he invited Him to examine his claim. He was confident that when the Lord did this He would find David not guilty.

The people of God can appeal confidently for vindication from the false accusations of spiritual enemies because they have a righteous standing before Him. This is not a claim to being sinless but to being righteous because of God’s work for them. The upright behavior of the righteous is evidence that they are, by God’s grace, different from the wicked.

 

Memory Verse: Isaiah 52:7

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

