Skip to content

KNOWING YOURSELF

April 27, 2015

Monday

 

Romans 7:15-24

 

So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand.  For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being,  but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members.  Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?

 

 

LESSON

 

Paul’s sinful human nature influenced him to such an extent that he found himself volitionally “doing” (approving) the very things that he despised intellectually. This caused him to marvel. All Christians can identify with him in this. The apostle’s attitude toward the Law was not the reason for his dilemma, since he admitted that “the Law is good.” Rather, his problem was traceable to the “sin” that dwelled within him, namely: his sinful nature. Paul was not trying to escape responsibility but he was identifying the source of his sin—his sinful nature. “I” describes the new man Paul had become at his conversion.

It comes as a terrible discovery for a new believer, or an untaught believer, to realize that their problem with sin is complex. We are sinners, not only because we commit acts of sin, but because, as descendants of Adam, we sin because he sinned. We are also sinners because we possess a nature that is thoroughly sinful. Jesus Christ paid the penalty for acts of sin, He removed the punishment of original sin, and He enables us to overcome the power of innate sin.

 

Memory Verse: Matthew 9:34

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

