Skip to content

EXCUSES

August 29, 2014

Friday

 

Jeremiah 1:4-10

 

Then the word of the LORD came unto me, saying, Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations. Then said I, Ah, Lord GOD! behold, I cannot speak: for I am a child. But the LORD said unto me, Say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak. Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the LORD. Then the LORD put forth his hand, and touched my mouth. And the LORD said unto me, Behold, I have put my words in thy mouth. See, I have this day set thee over the nations and over the kingdoms, to root out, and to pull down, and to destroy, and to throw down, to build, and to plant.

 

LESSON

 

The prophet now began speaking to his readers and telling them what the Lord had said to him. When the Lord revealed his calling to him, Jeremiah expressed dismay: first, because he was still a youth, and second, because he had not yet learned how to speak confidently and effectively. The Lord refused to accept Jeremiah’s reasons for resisting his call. It did not matter that he was young and inexperienced, because the Lord had called him. He would go where God sent him and say what God told him to say. He was not to fear the response of his audience, because the Lord promised to be with him and to deliver him from his threatening hearer. The Lord always supports the servants whom He sends on His missions.

By stretching out His hand and touching Jeremiah’s mouth, the Lord symbolized the transfer of His words to the prophet’s mouth. He also explained the meaning of His act. This was a powerful
way of visualizing that the Lord Himself would participate in all that Jeremiah would undertake
God uses ordinary people to accomplish His extraordinary work if they trust in Him in spite of their fears, obey Him in spite of their inexperience, and proclaim His Word in spite of their feelings of inadequacy.

 
Memory Verse: Genesis 3:12

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

