Skip to content

BETRAYAL

August 8, 2014

Friday

 

Psalms 55:12-14

 

For it is not an enemy who reproaches me, Then I could bear it; Nor is it one who hates me who has exalted himself against me, Then I could hide myself from him. But it is you, a man my equal, My companion and my familiar friend; We who had sweet fellowship together Walked in the house of God in the throng.

 

LESSON

 

David wanted God to confuse the person responsible for his suffering. His opposition had resulted in confusion in the city, perhaps Jerusalem. The manifestations of this confusion were violence, strife, iniquity, mischief, destruction, oppression, and deceit.

Such antagonism would have been easier for David to bear had it come from someone he disliked. However, his adversary had been an intimate friend who had just “stabbed him in the back.”

David addressed his former friend. Not only had he and David been good friends, they had also shared their deepest commitments in life, as worshiping together indicates.

 

Memory Verse: Lamentations 1:2

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

