Skip to content

SPIRITUAL RESILIENCE

June 19, 2014

Thursday

 

Jeremiah 1:4-8

 

Then the word of the LORD came unto me, saying, Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations. Then said I, Ah, Lord GOD! behold, I cannot speak: for I am a child. But the LORD said unto me, Say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak. Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the LORD.

 

LESSON

 

God’s promise to be with us, to provide what we need in life, because he has madeus, called us, and appointed us, doesn’t necessarily mean that we will only live on the sunny side of life! Babylon – where Jeremiah was sending words of encouragement to, to support those Israelites in captivity there – had rose gardens, but not for Jeremiah’s people. Jeremiah’s rose gardens were in his heart and mind, in the thoughts he shared, in the faith he held fast, and in the beautiful poetry of his famous letters with which he encouraged generations of Israelites to live and carry on!

And because we know that God is with us, no problem or weight in life should keep us from the call of God. Be resilient!

 

Memory Verse: 2 Timothy 1:7

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

