Skip to content

DEDICATION

June 10, 2014

Tuesday

 

Colossians 3:17

 

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

 

EXAMPLE

 

I think of David Livingstone, the pioneer missionary to Africa, who walked over 29,000 miles. His wife died early in their ministry and he faced stiff opposition from his Scottish brethren. He ministered half blind. His kind of perseverance spurs me on. As I run, I remember the words in his diary: Send me anywhere, only go with me. Lay any burden on me, only sustain me. Sever me from any tie but the tie that binds me to Your service and to Your heart.

 

-Joseph Stowell

 

LESSON

 

When we are focusing on the heavenly things, the earthy things seem small, insignificant, and worthless. His precepts are much more needed, precious, and positively impacting. What is often missed in this passage is the call to admonish. This means we are to take to task with gentleness and love but still do it earnestly, counseling others when they stray from God’s path.

Doing All in the Name of Jesus .This verse is the culmination of Paul’s general exhortations to godly living. If a believer will live according to the Christian virtues explained in the preceding  verses, he will also carry out this command – and if he will carry out this command, he will also carry out the other virtues.

 

Memory Verses 1 Corinthians 3:16-17

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

